City Council

IMG_9926.Best council pic

Government Information

The City of Ovilla is a Type A general law city. Type A general law cities are usually the larger of general law cities.  A general law city  operates according to specific state statutes prescribing their powers and duties. General law cities are limited to doing what the state authorizes or permits them to do. If state law does not grant general law cities the express or implied power to initiate a particular action, none may be taken. General law cities are smaller cities, most of which are less than 5,000 in population. 


The Ovilla governing body consists of the mayor and five council member seats. Each position is elected at-large and represents all citizens.

The City Council meets at 6:30 pm on the second Monday of each month.  Special meetings may be called as needed.

City Council meetings are held at the following location:

Ovilla Council Chamber room at the City Hall

105 S. Cockrell Hill Road

Ovilla, TX 75154


Your Mayor or Council may be contacted by email by clicking on the names listed below or on their names below their photos.

Mayor Richard Dormier

Place 1 - Mayor Pro Tem Kimberly Case

Place 2 - Dean Oberg

Place 3 - David Griffin

Place 4 - Doug Hunt

Place 5 - Brad Piland

FY2021-2022 Scheduled Council Meetings

FY2020-2021 Scheduled Council Meetings   

FY2019-2020 Scheduled Council Meetings

FY2018-2019 Scheduled Council Meetings 

FY2017-2018 Scheduled Council Meetings 

  City Council Agendas and Minutes

Mayor Richard Dormier

Copy of Dormier.JPG

 Richard Dormier  


Agenda Information Packets

A public review Council agenda packet book is available every Monday (of which a council meeting is being held) during business hours of 8:00 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. at city hall, or it may be viewed online.

Any interested citizen may stop by city hall anytime on Monday prior to a Council meeting to review all backup information for each listed item on the agenda for that night's meeting or view online in the archives/council packet.

For additional information, contact the city secretary's office.


Place 1 Mayor Pro Tem Kimberly Case

DSCN1384 Case10

Kimberly Case


Place 2 Council Member Dean Oberg

7-22-2013.PL5Oberg (002)

 Dean Oberg 


Place 3 Council Member David Griffin


 David Griffin 


Place 4 Council Member Douglas Hunt

Place 4 Hunt

 Doug Hunt 


Place 5 Council Member Brad Piland


Brad Piland